Back from a little hiatus, I’d like to admit that I have been eating not-so-great lately. We have been eating out of ton as a result of being on the road and catching up with friends over dinners.

BUT, we had a lovely weekend in NC and are now back to business. The CSA comes in tonight and we have some veggie eating to do. I’m most excited about a return of leafy salad greens and tons of butternut.

A quick recap of my lovely weekend visiting my sister for family weekend at NCSU:

There was BBQ (you just can’t get it like this anywhere in DC , period.)

There was a fall football game (that was sadly lost).

C. was SUCH a sport. He still wore his UNC hat and did not wear red, but was very supportive during the game.  He was not thrilled, however, that my loyalties are now split.

There was my sister is a red dress and cowboy boots (apprently a ‘thing’ among state girls)

There was pizza from my fav Apex pizza spot (you may think baked ziti pizza would be too much–you would be wrong)

And last but not least…There was my favorite food in the world…cliche as it may be…mom’s apple pie

My mom has a way with apples. This has been my favorite food for as long as I can remember. I get it piping hot and then cover it in cool milk. Oh goodness. I need more pie.

Sadly, I tried to make one once, but it just isn’t the same as when your mom makes it for you. I bet you know what I mean.

