An email showed up in my inbox this morning that made me a little nostalgic. My college is having its annual homecoming next weekend and the picture in the notice took me back:

This is the scene when driving up to the school, which never ever got old.

Warren Wilson is an old farm school, which is now a college with a farm where every student works and service to the community is required. It is a lovely concept called the Triad.

My first semester I was a dishwasher and my shift was breakfast. I loved it. It was peaceful and my mind could wander while spraying out pans and loading trays full of plates.

I also got to do a little baking and cooking in the kitchen. I actually continued doing it for extra money, even after my crew assignment changed.

It also made me smell like maple syrup.

