C. and I got engaged in May of ’08. Seems like a really long time ago now!

It was such a happy time. Not only because I was marrying the person who loved me in a way that I wanted AND needed, but because I got to REGISTER. At Crate and Barrel. Oh yeah.

With C. in tow, my mom, sister and I ran to the nearest location in Raleigh, NC. We got the guns and started scanning. C. was SUCH a good sport, but eventually got really overwhelmed and freaked out about a cupcake carrier. (Which just happens to be in my kitchen right now, thanks to best bud).

Over the next year that first attempt was changed pretty regularly, with C.’s input, thanks to their online registry. He could participate without being overwhelmed by the store.

Everyone was so generous with us and as a result I have an amazingly well stocked kitchen. One of our first gifts (a shower gift) was a waffle iron. We registered for the model/type recommend by Alton Brown (Good Eats) and used his recipe the first Sunday we were back from the Honeymoon.

In fact, I keep a short hand form of this recipe under the wheat flour in my kitchen. It’s the only one I will ever use. Its perfection.

I often make a double batch and freeze them for to-go waffles all week!

Supplies: hot waffle iron (highest setting), batter, ice cream scoop and cooking spray.

All Done!

With black berries and cream…

Here is the recipe…I mean it…you will NEVER look back. I put some of my notes in there, too.

Basic Waffles

Recipe courtesy Alton Brown, 2005

Serves: approximately 6 (8-inch round) waffles
Ingredients

  • 4 3/4 ounces all-purpose flour, approximately 1 cup
  • 4 3/4 ounces whole-wheat flour, approximately 1 cup
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 3 whole eggs, beaten
  • 2 ounces unsalted butter, melted
  • 16 ounces buttermilk, room temperature
  • Vegetable spray, for waffle iron

Directions

Preheat waffle iron according to manufacturer’s directions. (I put mine on the highest setting b/c I like darker waffles)

In a medium bowl whisk together the flours, soda, baking powder, salt, and sugar. In another bowl beat together eggs and melted butter, and then add the buttermilk. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until combined. Allow to rest for 5 minutes. (DO NOT SKIP THIS STEP!!)

Ladle the recommended amount of waffle batter onto the iron according to the manufacturer’s recommendations. (I use an ice cream scooper and put in two level scoops). Close iron top and cook until the waffle is golden on both sides and is easily removed from iron. Serve immediately or keep warm in a 200 degree F oven until ready to serve.

