Week 8

They were good to their word, no Chard. But honestly, I’m more overwhelmed by the amount of zucchini and squash. I can’t eat it all, so they have taken over my freezer. We will have enough to last us for a long time after the CSA is done in the fall.

p.s. I need a bigger freezer.

In this bag this week:

2 eggplant

2 tomatoes (heirloom looking)

2 zuchinni

2 squash

1 bunch each basil and parsley

2 cucumbers

3 sweet onions

I set to work as soon as a I got home to get as much preserved as possible. Luckily I had some good TV, and Top Chef DC was a nice inspiration for all the cutting and chopping. I even got a little crazy with my knife and tried some new moves.  Don’t worry, C.–no cuts!

After two hours of work, I had four bags of frozen items and more pesto. I also made a tomato sauce (which I’m about to eat for lunch over some of last weeks potatoes).

The eggplant and cukes are going to the nice friend who is checking in on the cats while I am on vacation! I can’t wait to get on the cruise ship and eat everything all day long.

See you next Thursday!!

