My little sister came for a visit this weekend and it was just wonderful. My step dad was coming up to Maryland for work anyway, so he dropped her off on Saturday morning. I decided to treat them to a little local veggie goodness.

Not to mention that I was feeling a little overwhelmed with veggies and they both eat anything!

I decided on a panzanella, because bread makes everything better. I read some recipes, but ended up just winging it.

I used all CSA veggies. I sauteed two small sweet onions and 1 clove of garlic, then added my two tomatoes and one zucchini. I didn’t let them cook very long, just to get some of the juices out and warm it up a bit, but I didn’t want to lose the fresh flavor.

I toasted cubes of wheat bread with olive oil in the pan, then added them to the veggies. Then I added a lot of CSA basil and some red wine vinegar, salt and pepper.

MixMixMix (that’s me, there!)

I sprinkled some parm on at the end and served with  rotisserie chicken.

The fam enjoying. Yum!

Some adjustments I will do if I make this again: Toast the bread cubes more…they got just a tad soggy. I would also cook the zucchini a little longer, it was a little hard. But overall, a very good lunch!!

