One veggie that I have always loved (that may or may not qualify as a veggie to normal people) is pickles. I’m not really into canning, its a lot of work in a tiny kitchen. But, with all of the cukes I got, I really wanted to make some delicious pickles. So, I thought I’d try my hand at fridge pickles.

No pain in the butt canning, just pickles.

I sliced up the cucumbers (about 4) and put in several cloves of garlic I got from the CSA.

Next I made a fridge pickle preservation concoction of vinegar, water, sugar, red pepper flakes, peppercorns. Oh! and SALT. Of course. Boil until salt and sugar dissolve.

I dumped over the bowl of cucumber and garlic and let it sit a little to let them get soft.

Then, I put (stuffed) them in a jar.

P.S. I now have more cucumbers….sigh.

P.S.S They are really, really good. I keep stopping by the fridge and eating them. I’ve actually just left a fork in the fridge next to the jar. Don’t hate.

