Weekend dinners. Not as much fun without the husband. But, since this was my last weekend before the paper writing begins in earnest I had to make the most of it.

C. and I love to cook complicated and long-cooking stew-type meals on Sundays. Sitting on the couch smelling the meat getting tender, watching the clock. Well, I decided to go it alone today. With carnitas.

I used a combo of this and this recipe.

  • 2.5 pounds of pork, cubed
  • 1 cups of chicken stock (I added a little while cooking as well)
  • Couple of canned chipotle chilies (my addition, I had them in the freezer)
  • Onion
  • Juice of one lime

All that went into the le creuset (my sweet blue french lover) and cooked for 2 hours. I ate it then, but I should have let it go longer, and you should too. Do as I say, not as I do. Then use a potato masher to make it all shredded like. Yum. Then cook until it gets a little crispy.

For toppings, I used a little cheese and my buddy the cabbage dressed with lime. For a base I fried up some corn tortillas. Surprising easy and fast.

Results!

You, dear reader, will be proud to know that while eating the awesomeness pictured above, I went back for more cabbage TWICE!! Yes, its true. TWICE! Limed up cabbage is my newest buddy.

