We had a lovely party with some friends on the roof of our building for the 4th, and I used CSA veggies in almost everything we ate (and drank)!

Homemade Cucumber and ginger infused vodka with ginger ale and lemon. Dangerous.

Zucchini bread muffins with lemon cream cheese drizzle.

This is my plate, which isn’t as exciting as others at the dinner, because I was a little apprehensive about some of the elements. But it was mostly really yummy, especially the brats! The squash fritters didn’t turn out at all like I wanted, however. The recipe was in the CSA newsletter and didn’t come together. But I did use the tarragon from the CSA bag and that really brought up the flavor.

A friend brought some cucumber dip and cucumber salad that were just excellent. The cucumber dip really helped the fritters.

The weather was perfect, and the fireworks amazing. We can see not only the mall fireworks, but ones all over the city. The cops saw those too from their cop helicopter with the spotlight…but that didn’t stop anyone. We heard fireworks well after midnight, which made me smile. Yay! Independence!


