I love fried rice. I had it for the first time in 8th grade. I ate only white rice previously. I went to a hibachi restaurant for a friend’s birthday and there was no choice but to eat the rice with that scary brown stuff on it. But, surprise! Scary brown stuff was salty and delicious (see yesterday’s post).

However, it still wasn’t totally safe to order, some places added vegetables! Or little shrimps! And I wasn’t comfortable making it at home, since I didn’t have a hibachi grill and all. Ha.

By the time I got to college I learned to add an egg to the white rice, then soy sauce, then chicken and recently, frozen peas and carrots. And I changed to brown rice.

What I made last night was NOT safe fried rice. And it was a challenge to eat, to be totally honest.

That’s chard, summer squash, garlic curls. I eventually added the greens and removed the mixture from the pan. Then I scrambled some eggs. Took those out, fried the rice with some soy sauce and then added the components back in:

It was very pretty rice.

But, like I said, I had trouble eating it. The squash was quite delicious, and the garlic curls added an onion-y tang that was very nice…but the chard. I didn’t like the texture or the taste. But I ate it. Like a champ. The whole dish tasted so…GREEN.

It was a little disheartening. I just hope I adjust to these flavors if I keep pushing myself.

