My CSA starts in just two days, which is great! My posts will change once I start getting food and include more pictures and recipes. Including what I do with every single thing I get and how well I do with eating it. Planning is so important!

I’m eating up all the food in my fridge and pantry right now so I can’t chicken out and make my favorite stand-by, spaghetti and sauce. But at least I’ve switched to organic whole wheat pasta (love the trader joes brand)!

This first week is going to be hard, because I pick up my bag on Wednesday night and am leaving for NC for my sister’s graduation Thursday night. Therefore, I need to plan well and preserve as much as possible of what will go bad before I get home on Sunday.

Luckily, there is the incredibly helpful post from the Crisper Whisperer on Serious Eats  as to how to deal with lots of produce you can’t use right away. I’m hoping to take some of the produce to NC with me, but also freeze most of it. I was so happy to see that you can cook and freeze lettuce (See tip #4)! I also love tip # 10: Pesto is your best(-o) friend! Hmmm….pesto…I still have a bunch of frozen homemade pasta in my freezer to put it all over. Yum.

Any other suggestions welcome!

Pest-o best-o friend-o…

