When you eat the way I do, it draws attention. A lot of people don’t like certain foods, but my case was (is) pretty extreme. Since most social events revolve around food, people notice if you fall outside of ‘normal.’ Sometimes the attention is good, other times, it can feel like you’re under a microscope.

Yesterday, I rode home with two lovely people. I had never met them before, but we were connected through a family friend because they were making the trek from NC to DC and had a back seat they could loan to me.

Luckily, I’m a talker. Its easy for me to make small talk in most any situation. I wasn’t nervous in the slightest to be in a car with strangers for 7-8 hours.

Here is where these two ideas collide. People talk about food a surprising amount, and they are fascinated by my oddity. They ask me eager questions and love to hear about the super taster tests.  Since starting this blog, and after yesterday in the car, I realized just how much hating most foods is part of my identity.

What if I start eating like a normal person? Who will I be then? After 27 years of being one way, its not so easy to change. It is an interesting part of my personality. Of me. What if I am no longer the pickiest person in the room? What will I talk about at parties?

Sometimes, it feels good it fit in. But sometimes, it is nice to stand out.

Super taster or…?

