Its hot today. Really hot.  DC, being in a swamp, gets so muggy. Granted, its nothing to the muggy where I am from in NC. I’m excited for summer because I like heat better than cold, but it also means that C. is leaving for 10 weeks and his departure is approaching very quickly. In fact, he is at home packing right now. Sad.

C. has been a wonderful influence on me food wise, but I have also been a bad influence on him. He eats anything and likes vegetables. He encourages me to try new foods. Some successful (avocados-YUM), some NOT (scallops-UGH). However, since I do most of the cooking, it tends to be what I know how to make. Which means a lot of meat+carb, sometimes with green giant green beans. Yum, that actually sounds really good right now…

We both came up to DC for school. C. is at Georgetown Law and I am at GW for public policy. DC has been really good for both of us, we both needed to get out our little NC bubble. But, in all honestly, that bubble includes affordable housing, yards, our families and the possibility of a dog. We have pointed our sights back in that direction after graduation, which is rapidly approaching, especially for me!

It is my dream to have a normal sized home, a dog, a garden and a few chickens when we get home. We will see!

My First Boyfriend…

