I’m not even sure how I first heard about the CSA (community-supported agriculture) concept, but the idea appealed to me right away. I think my husband, henceforth referred to as C., might have told me about them.

I began my CSA search where all searches begin, Google. I quickly found a wonderful WaPo article on CSA’s in the DC metro area. It has a lovely overview of what to look for in a CSA and 5 pages of them to research. I made an excel sheet (don’t judge) of distance, price per week, number of weeks, pick-up options and offerings.

There are SO many options. Some offer fruit, eggs, bread, flowers, meat, or cheese, along with the more traditional veggies. All of these appealed to me more than the veggie only options, for obvious reasons.

After narrowing it down to options that had fruit OR eggs (but never both, so sad) and ones that were close enough and didn’t cost an arm or a leg, I started doing research of their online reviews. It became clear the Potomac Vegetable Farm (PVF) was the best option for us.

Here is what we got for about $25/wk:

Mini Share: Designed to feed single folks or couples who eat out often (they also offer regular and robust shares)

Summer: week of June 1 to September 14 = 16 weeks of summer produce: luscious tomatoes, versatile squashes, swiss chard, garlic, peppers, celery and basil.

Autumn: week of September 21 to November 9 = 8 weeks of fall produce: butternut squash, sweet potatoes, celery root, kale, asian greens and salad greens.

And of course, I added:

Egg Share: fresh brown unfertilized eggs from happy birds!

Because eggs aren’t vegetables!!

They also offer bread and flowers, but we didn’t go for that this year. PVF filled up super quickly, after opening up on Valentines Day. Glad we got in!

I pick up on Wednesdays in Alexandria. This was great when I had a car, but since C. is running off to NC he needs it more (I guess). So, I will be investing in a zipcar membership for the pick ups. And yes, that IS annoying.

The nice, delicious, not scary part of the CSA…

